DUI Statistics for California
According to AAA (American Automobile Association)
California has some of the nations strictest,
and most complicated DUI laws. They are part of the
uniform state code, and do not change in individual
cities or counties.
DUI offenses are charged under both motor vehicle and
criminal codes, not one or the other. The criminal citation
may be either misdemeanor or felony, depending on circumstances
such as collision, damages, injuries, fatalities, etc
- Bail amounts range from $1,600 to
- Fines range from $390 to $5,000 dollars.
- Restitution amounts range from $100
to $10,000 dollars.
- Penalty assessments of 70% are attached
all court-imposed fines.
- Jail time ranges from 48 hours to
1 year for misdemeanors, and 5 days to 5 years for
- Drivers license restriction/suspension/revocation
may be from 6 months to 5 years.
- Vehicle impound is the norm, but
vehicles may be seized, confiscated and/or sold by
- Probation is usual.
- Mandatory substance abuse assessment
and treatment programs are also part of the process.
The latest year that the statistics are reported is
2003. Here are the highlights:
- 16,180 DUI arrests in San Diego
- 74% + conviction rate